Week 3/12

Tuesday Tempo (Tempo pace is 5:00)

  • 10-min warm-up
  • 20-min tempo
  • 10-min cool-down

Distance covered: 8.1km
How it went: Had doubts at the start of the workout if I could keep to the pace, so I stuck to the 20-min tempo segment instead of increasing it to 25. However as I got the warm up going, it began to feel better and for the 3rd week running, I achieved the 4:55 average for the 20 mins. Extended the cool down jog to cap the day at 8K.

Easy Wednesday
Distance covered: 8.5K
How it went: After 3 weeks, I can safely say that I’ve successfully transitioned to morning runs. Wednesday morning was no different. But as laid on the bed enjoying the extra 30 seconds after the alarm went off, I didn’t feel quite right. Regardless, I was downstairs lacing up not 10 minutes later. But as I was doing that, I was struck with a pain stomach ache that had me breaking sweat. Those intense types that have you clenching your butt cheeks. Resisting the urge to run it off, I instead rushed to the loo and not a moment too soon! To save you the crap-fest description, it felt much better right after. The whole morning had me thinking what I ate that could’ve caused the issue. I initially put it down to the sambal (chilli paste) the night before. Yet it was unlikely, since I had very little of it and if it was bad, I’d have run into problems the very night. Then I realized that it was the iron tablet which I took (on top of my regular fish oil capsules and antioxidant tablet) that probably messed me up. Ordinarily, it wouldn’t have been a problem but after laying off them for months and retaking them, it’s probably the way the body is adjusting. Iron supplementation isn’t something I do normally since I’m not anemic. But with increased training intensity, there are iron “leakages” from the capillaries, from all that pounding (foot-strike hemolysis). Best way to replenish it is via natural foods (dark leafy vegs and meat are most common sources) which I get plenty of, but last night’s dinner being rather little and plain, I thought I’d pop a pill.

Thursday MP
Distance covered: 9.3K (MP is 5:19)
How it went: The plan called for Yasso’s i.e. 5x800m with 400m recovery (similar to 2 weeks’ prior). On account that Wednesday’s run was in the evening and I got home late, I thought it was better to stay on the conservative side and not push it. I could grit my teeth through the Yasso’s but at what cost? I wasn’t about to find out the hard way.

Started the MP segment, after a 2K warm up. It was tough working up to the MP the first 2Ks, but once the body got into the groove, it was a go. I avoided checking the pace (just like during the tempo workouts) and just tried to run by feel. 5:28 > 5:21 > 5:12 > 5:17 > 5:13 > 5:11 > 5:11 which meant I’d gone into LT zone. Analysis showed my HR to be in the 2015-2016 marathon race pace readings which doesn’t really confirm anything. To conclude that I’m now running quicker at the same HR of last year won’t be accurate since this is just week 3. In his podcast, Luke Humphreys (of Hansons Marathon Method) warned about peaking too early, and there are still over 9 weeks to race day.

If anything, this workout showed that I needed to balance the speedwork with more marathon specific workouts such as MP, LT and Tempo. The legs are a little tired and with a 6 day/week plan, there are certainly cumulative fatigue at work here. I’m sensitive to how the body is adapting to the stress and will continue to monitor all the signs and readings.

Easy Friday
Distance covered: 7.44K
How it went: After running in lighter shoes most of the time, I pulled out the Triumph for an easy session. If taken as a swap with yesterday’s MP, this morning was supposed to be the Yasso’s. But I’m letting the body recover just a little more yet retain the “time on feet” factor. I’ve been late getting back home the last 2 nights and as a result of the late dinners, I didn’t get to bed as early as I wanted to. 6:30 used to be my easy pace but now it’s 6:13.

Saturday Yasso’s 
Distance covered: 12.5K (5x800m, including warm up and cool down)
How it went: Shuffling the Thu to Sat workouts around due to work meant that this morning I had to repay my Yasso dues. 4K of warm up before hitting 5 reps. Once again, went by effort and post run data showed 5-10 secs improvements (4:18 > 4:16 > 4:18 > 4:15 > 4:09) over Week 1’s Yasso’s. Rest assured it was mental and it gave me the chance to exercise the positive affirmations during those hard laps. While the 4:09 was my quickest in a long while, it doesn’t prove anything at this stage. So much more left to do.

Long Sunday
Distance covered: 21K
How it went: Generally good. Main goal was to complete the distance, which I did. Kept to a comfortable and easy pace till 12K point afterwhich the pace quickened considerably. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to hold till the finish with last 2K quite a struggle.

Number of days of running: 6
Total mileage: 67K
Notes: With 3 weeks done, the weekly mileage has been climbing. I will control the intensity next week and bring into play the longer sets and also some running at LT pace. It’s clear that the long runs need some working out. All said and done, I’m just glad a quarter of the 12 weeks are wrapped up, with no missed workouts!!

Looking back: Week 1 | Week 2

One thought on “Week 3/12

Comments are closed.