Week 8/12

Tuesday Recovery
Distance covered: 2.05km
How it went: I continued resting on Monday since it was a designated one. But by Tuesday, I felt that I was ready to sweat a little, however short. It was really a countermeasure against settling into too many days of inactivity. And so it was… a couple of Ks at 6:25 pace to really ease back into training mode.

Easy Wednesday
Distance covered: 10.34km
How it went: In hindsight, yesterday was a good call because I took the first steps in getting back into the regimen. No complains with the effort, pace and distance on the cool, windless yet humid conditions. Actually I was surprised that after 3 days of being off the rails, I was still able to average a 6:05 pace. No sooner had I ended the run, and feeling good about it, the lower back soreness felt over the 3 days due to the flu returned. Looks like I still need to take another ibuprofen just to survive a day on audit.

Thursday Test
Distance covered: 4.1km
How it went: Getting better but decided to keep it short in view of the much more important 30. Wanted to see how the body responds to a bit of pace injection. Started languidly before progressing to 5:53 > 5:31 > 5:00. Have lost it a bit in terms of comfort level but if all goes well the next 2 weeks and into taper I shouldn’t worry too much about it. There’s no guarantee in marathoning, so it’s just a matter of keep doing the work.

Treadmill Friday
Distance covered: 6.45km
How it went: Woke up all ready for a 2-6-2 MP but the eagerness was dampened by a thunderstorm. Waited patiently in bed as I still had some time buffer for at least an 8K. The rain subsided a little a few minutes later, lending hope to my plans but alas, as I sat up on my bed, it resumed again. Having just recovered from flu, heading out albeit in a jacket would be plain foolhardy. And that’s that. I couldn’t let the rebuilding momentum slip away again, so I snuck in an evening run on the treadmill, bearing in mind tomorrow’s hilly 11K with the Saucony group. Pace was progressive, from 6:27 down to 5:15.

Saucony Saturday
Distance covered: 10.27K
How it went: Good run with the Saucony running group. Felt like a fartlek due to the fast-slow running managing the large group. The best run I’ve had since being hit with the flu a week ago.

Crucial Sunday
Distance covered: 29.7K
How it went: This was a must-accomplish workout after being waylaid by flu last weekend. A very bad storm at 2am threatened to scupper plans again but thankfully subsided when I left the house at 4:30am. Drizzled very lightly a few seconds here and there as I drove to Peremba but rain was a non-event by the time we kicked off. Morning was cool with lower humidity than the last few days, which made running quite pleasant. Happy to have a few friends for the 30, even if only one ran the entire planned distance. Pace was at a comfortable 6:10 from the start and we progressively tightened the pace from 18K onwards. Suffered some towards the end but was so glad to have completed it.

Number of days of running: 6
Total mileage: 62.9K
Notes: I’ve absolutely no complains coming back to the 60’s after a poor 2 back-to-back weeks. In the past, that would’ve put me into severe deficit, almost back to square one. However, thanks to the consistency put in over the weeks prior to the illness, I was able to rebound back almost to the pre-illness state by the end of the week. Granted, I was pragmatic enough to stick to conservativeness the earlier part of the week (the HR readings were a little on the high side as I made the tentative first steps back to full on running).

Looking back: Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4 | Week 5 | Week 6 | Week 7

2 thoughts on “Week 8/12

Comments are closed.