Week 10/12

Easy Tuesday
Distance covered: 8.25km
How it went: Most have entered tapering but in terms of mileage, the week’s total will be kept in the 60s. To work around the wife’s schedule I had to swap around the Tue and Wed program. Kept it comfortable throughout.

Wednesday Double
Distance covered: 16.02km
How it went: AM run: For progression workouts, I’ve been relying on workouts programmed in Garmin Connect and synced to the watch. This has proven reliable when it comes to executing Intervals and segmented runs. This morning’s session was supposed to have been a 6-5-4 Easy-MP-HMP progression but I completely missed transferring it over. As a substitute, I went with a “run-as-long-as-I-could” at a pace between HMP and Tempo.

While the 7.3K average was 5:07, the actual pace was much quicker following a 5:55 opener. I noted several 5:00 flats. Surprisingly, the entire thing feel good and I was always in control at “comfortably hard” level. I could’ve gone the full 10K at that sustained effort and for a moment or two entertained the fantasy of running a 3:26 marathon (the watch said so when I hit sub 5:00 pace).

PM run: This was a much needed 2nd run of the day, not for the mileage but for stress relief. I’m not sure how one copes with the stresses of daily life – work especially – without an outlet such as exercise. There are plenty of examples all around us of those taking it out on substances that ironically mess up their bodies even more. I’m grateful for my running. I’m grateful for being able to find the meaning in doing it. I’m grateful in still being able to keep at it all these years, albeit with several breaks. It’s something I won’t be giving up as long as I’m mobile.

Treadmill Thursday
Distance covered: 8.38km
How it went: Quick light strides and loving it until the footpod went bonkers from 5.2K onwards, calling out wrong distances. A good workout nonetheless!

Treadmill Friday
Distance covered: 10.61km
How it went: I’m very mindful of how I’m feeling lately. I don’t intend to over-extend myself going into this stage and rather stay fresh and light. Spreading the day’s mileage across 2 shorter runs seems to work better. But this move is just temporary as the morning workout still holds priority.

PM 40-minute run. Lower legs and the right PF were quite sore. I’ve been self-massaging nearly every night for the past 3 days. I reckon the faster running which calls for a more forward-upright lean put some stresses on the lower legs. My running form has been good waist down. 5:00-5:16 paces have seen noticeable knee lifts, translating to longer strides. But damn, I’ve got to sort out this discomfort.

Saturday
Distance covered: 9.5K
How it went: Kept the Saucony Group Run session very gentle all the way. Wasn’t about to over-extend the lower legs, so I was content just shuffling the entire distance. Fantastic weather, cool, overcast and the predicted heavy traffic due to schooling Saturday didn’t turn out bad at all. Got home and fixed myself a second breakfast of oats, soymilk, berries, bananas and a long black. Looking forward to tomorrow’s final long run.

Sunday Simulation
Distance covered: 19.6K
How it went: Glad to have Jessie as pacer the first 14K. After a 6:23 warm-up click, we got down to business right from the 2nd K. Keeping to average of 5:10, I was able to maintain conversation throughout. We realized the pace was 10 seconds quicker than goal pace though but pace discipline was better than during SCKLM, with the quickest 2Ks at 5:07 (back to back) instead of sub 5’s. While I was able to hold the pace for the remaining miles, I felt myself tiring towards the end. The 5:17 average for the 19K was very decent but should still slow down a tad.

Number of days of running: 6
Total mileage: 72.36K
Notes: As much as I wished the 5:10 pace would be realistic and sustainable for the marathon, it isn’t. I will almost certainly crash and burn around the 25K mark if I went with that. 5:10 will take a couple of years’ consistent development – that’s looking forward. The current objective shall remain a conservative one. I’ll need absolute discipline and patience to execute it. Regardless, I shall enjoy a little of the tapering process!

Looking back: Week 1 | Week 2 | Week 3 | Week 4 | Week 5 | Week 6 | Week 7 |Week 8 | Week 9

Leave a Reply

