2022 Selangor Marathon (The Half)

bib

The KL Marathon was done and dusted a couple of weeks ago. A poor timing but what was to be expected? I’ll admit it – the mojo is pretty much missing with much of my waking hours (and during sleep as well, if I may add) thinking about work.

These soul-crushing weeks have gone into months and there are many more months to navigate. I rarely have sleepless nights but at 52, it’s now not uncommon that I find myself awake at 3:30am/4:30am. 5.5-hour sleep during week-nights are not good for the mind and body, not to mention there are obvious long-term risks.

My fitness has certainly regressed after Kuching Marathon [race report] so when a complimentary slot was available for the Selangor Marathon, I grabbed at it. I really needed to run.

Sepang isn’t that far from home and I thought I should be able to get through a Half Marathon on a training-run mode. Parts of the route brought back memories of the inaugural Putrajaya Night Marathon. Runners will start from Parking Bay 12 of the Sepang International Circuit and enjoy a 2.2km downhill before hitting a mostly flat loop. “Mostly” because there a couple of climbs scattered through the course.

pacepro

Since it was to be a training run, and the event organizers availed the GPX file, I thought it would be nice to use the PacePro feature on my Garmin. PacePro allows you to plan your pace strategy over a course. As you will see, I was obviously too optimistic for a sub-1:45 (4:56/km average) finish.

A 45-minute drive later, I found myself tailgating a long line of cars entering the race venue. Many cars were parked by the roadside but in hindsight it was wise of me to pay the RM5 parking fee for a much nearer spot – getting out proved to be easier as well. My warm-up was half-hearted at best and after draining my small bottle of sports drink, I ventured to the start, plonking myself about 10m from the arch.

The race flagged off 5 minutes late at 5:05am and after a congested and narrow exit onto the road, the runners were able to spread out. As advised by the organizers, many runners wore blinkers and headlamps, as was I except that mine was handheld. In these early stages, runners were at it as if they were in Pamplona. A few were already breathing, huffing and puffing so loudly as they were clearly running way harder than they’re fit for. What were they thinking??! Anyways, who was I to care. To each his/her own. I was more concerned about stepping into a pothole and keeping to a pace that’ll get me to the finish.

pacepro1

I wasn’t that familiar with the data screens and so only gazed at the readouts occasionally to get an idea of how far was I to the next climb. No issues at any of the drink stations and I grabbed 2 cups at each. I carried 2 gels (Koda) which I consumed at the 9 and 18km marks. They were enough since this wasn’t a race to me. Oh yeah, I went with the Alphafly as I find them comfortable at paces slower than MP (personal preference).

runSG

I was moving OK, given my utterly basement-level fitness. 5K – 25:15, 10K – 50:41. The quicker amongst us Half Marathoners were already passing some Marathoners who needed to loop the course twice (never an easy thing!). I slowed a little at 15K – 1:16 and the next couple of KMs were slowest between 5:13-5:16/km as I warned myself to save some energy and fight for the final 2.2km climb to the finish. I was glad to have heeded the caution because I recovered after the final u-turn to somehow run 5:02 > 5:04 > 5:04 > 5:04 > 5:04 to the finish. The 1:47 was a minute quicker than my finish at the KL Half Marathon (a reckless first half ensured a horrendous second). After finishing 12th in my category in Kuching, it was another 12th (45th overall) this time around.

officialsplits

The official splits showed that one can indeed run a good “race” or what you’d define a race. Run even pace or even effort and let attrition takes it’s course. My position shifted upwards through the race, mostly by keeping to this strategy. I’m pretty satisfied with the outcome. It was a good distance to have run that morning and personally at a good pace given the circumstances I find myself in these days.

Now that the work project calendar is out, the 2023 Gold Coast Marathon (entries open Feb 15th 2023) will be a no-go for me. Calling it a disappointment would be putting it mildly. I would’ve love for GCM23 to be my goal race, one that I secure that qualifier for Nick.

I’m in no state of mind to say when I’m able to get over this rut. Managing stress and getting enough sleep are my top priorities. 5.5 hours/night is unacceptable. That said, I still plan to run the Twincity Half (if and when it opens for entries – for a big event organiser, they’re hopeless on FB with DMs going unanswered). And then there’s the Big One in September. KLSCM will be in Oct, but with that just a week after the Big One, it could very well just be the 10K for me.

Conditions continue to be very murky, running-wise, other than those mentioned above.