GCM22 Training: Week 4/12

Wk4

Planned: 93K | Actual: 93.6K | Rest Days: 0 | Long run: 24K

Week 4 was supposed to be the first of many 3-SOS weeks but as Tuesday’s weather turned out, it scuppered my Strength Workout i.e. 4x2K @ GMP-10 with 500m recovery jogs. It rained so heavily that we sought shelter at a bus stop and after a quick discussion, changed the planned workout to a moderate-effort run of the same distance. I made sure I didn’t over-extend myself since there’s an MP workout the very next day.

A decision was made to try out a new venue this time around, the 800m loop around the MBPJ Stadium – very short loops for longer MP sessions, but I was game with all that, “Variety is the Spice of Life” thing. It beats running around my neighbourhood anyway. The Adios Pro 2 received its first try-out. It felt OK although I had to stop to re-tie the left shoe during the recovery phase. No other fit concerns after that. Very secure and responsive but Lightstrike Pro foam isn’t as soft as ZoomX nor Fuelcell, resulting is mild soreness is the balls of my feet. I reckon it needed some breaking in. In his review, Eddbud did mention about the Pro 2 getting better with each run. Anyways, the workout went well. The plan was 2x5K @ GMP with 1.6K recovery jog.

1st Set: 4:48 > 4:43 > 4:35 > 4:42 > 4:53 (Avg 4:44)
2nd Set: 4:38 > 4:46 > 4:50 > 4:44 > 4:30 (Avg 4:42)

This week’s long run was a 24K. The weather on Saturday morning was excellent and that helped in no small measure as my mileage have been on the rise. My start was typically slow, before getting into groove. I was glad to be tuning into the utterly inspiring episode of the Morning Shakeout podcast which feature Tommy Rivs. If you haven’t tuned in already, do check it out.

I was even pacing most of the way and KMs 14-18 were flat 5:21s before closing off the morning at 5:07 the last 3km, for a 5:27 average. That morning was my most consistent pacing yet. There were moments when I was totally in the zone and the KMs just clicked by. Running at a particular effort is one thing, but being in the zone and in a calm and peaceful state of mind is really what it’s about.